WAR HILL - 11th Race in 1998 Leinster League

Former Irish Olympian Noel Berkeley (DSD) won War Hill - the 11th race in 13 race Leinster League - on Wednesday 15th July after a close tussle with the blossoming Hugh McLindon and former Belfast marathon winner and Irish 10.000 metre track champion Gerry McGrath.

Berkeley, McLindon, and McGrath had a ding dong battle along the 10 kilometre route which took in the summits of White Hill and Djouce mountain before Berkeley powered ahead on the climbs to put a cushion between himself and McLindon.

The race is unique in that the initial approaches are on a track made of railway sleepers. These are placed side by side and stretch over the bog trail damaged by the Wicklow Way - the long distance walking path. The consensus of opinion was that the sleeper trail made for an exciting and challenging race especially on the descent on the way back. If it was wet, the reaction might have been different.....

62 minute half marathoner Berkeley who is keen to make an impact in the World Mountain Running Championships on Reunion in the Indian Ocean in September finally finished 46 seconds ahead of McLindon who held on to finish 11 seconds ahead of McGrath. Joan Flanagan had a comfortable win in the women's race to beat Eileen Walsh and Una Coghlan.

WAR HILL - Leinster League 11 of 13							
	Wed	15th July 1998	Dry	Wet u/f			
POS	NUM	NAME	CAT	CLUB	TIME		
1	663	Noel Berkeley		DSD	46.57	Record	
2	493	Hugh McLindon		3ROC	47.43		
3	665	Ger McGrath		DSD	47.50		
4	501	Bob Lawlor		Crusaders	51.17		
5	426	Michael Walters		Ajax	51.59		
6	631	Marcus Pinker			54.21		
7	617	Shane Fleming		Canada Life	54.32		
8	489	Kieran McDonald	MV	Ajax	55.45	Record	
9	985	John Gallagher		Ochil Hill Runners	55.53		
10	445	Simon Walters		AIB	56.51		
11	451	Alan Cox		Crusaders	57.29		
12	455	Aidan Fitzpatrick			57.54		
13	639	John McDonnell		DSD	58.03		

14	490	Brian Lambe	M16	TOCAC	58.10 Record
15	850	Gerry Lalor			58.26
16	450	Paul Cullen			58.38
17	671	Eric Forde	MJ		58.56
18	425	Thomas Galvin		Glenasmole	59.27
19	405	Henny Brandsma	MV	Sportsworld	59.51
20	564	Kieran Crowley		AIB	59.52
21	848	Philip Brennan		Setanta O.C	59.55
22	441	David Cronin	MV		59.57
23	465	Claude McManmon	MV		60.09
24	655	Michael Dunford			
Canada Life	60.18				
25	482	Dave Weston		Setanta	61.28
26	630	Nigel Burke			61.49
27	480	Joan Flanagan	F	Ajax	61.51 Record
28	428	Vivian O'Gorman	MV		62.30
29	658	Tommy Whelan	MV	Guinness	63.28
30	505	Ercus Stewart	MV	Glenasmole	63.32
31	683	Colin Burns		Ajax	63.44
32	656	Donough O'Keeffe		BVOC	63.57
33	990	Richard Church			65.25
34	510	Gavan Doherty		GEN	65.55
35	472	Padraic Hamrock		AIB	66.14
36	512	Pat Fitzpatrick		AIB	66.28
37	504	Kevin Murray	MV		66.41
38	634	Johnny McElhinney			66.54
39	430	Nigel Creighton			67.53
40	422	Frank Murphy	MV	Glenasmole	68.20
41	987	Rory Wallace		Ajax	68.21
42	989	Gerry T. Lawlor	MV	Civil Service	69.28
43	855	Peter Gibson	MV	G & T Crampton	69.37
44	662	Alan Guinane		AIB	69.48
45	533	Eddie McGovern		Canada Life	69.54
46	507	Eileen Walsh	F	Donore Harriers	71.02
47	988	Eugene O'Sullivan		Setanta	71.15
48	487	Paul Dodd		AIB	72.16

49	682	Peter Gargan	MV	Ajax	72.37			
50	475	Joe Henry		AIB	74.25			
51	616	Una Coghlan	F	3ROC	74.55			
52	986	Paul Fitzpatrick			75.04			
53	470	Joe McDonagh		AIB	75.58			
54	660	Danny Toye	MSV		76.22	Record		
55	508	Marian Hughes	FV		76.44	Record		
56	840	Sean Lynch	MSV		77.39			
57	668	Norman Caprani	MSV		80.30			
58	825	Brendan Doherty	MSV		82.40			
59	433	Jimmy O'Brien	MSV	Ajax	83.00			
60	503	Julie Hilliard	FV	Sportsworld	83.11			
61	571	Melanie Walsh	F		83.72			
62	984	Paul Heery			90.49			
63	481	James Higgins		AIB	91.15			
64	479	Michael De Burca			93.10			
65	461	Willie O'Gorman	MSV	Portmarnock	93.43			
66	460	Mike Gomm	MV60	Portmarnock	95.44	Record		
67	829	Brian Byrne	MSV	Crusaders	95.45			
68	651	Diarmuid De Burca		Metro St. Bridgids	155.44			
		Short Course						
1	486	Eoghan O'Gorman	M14		8.50	Record		
2	610	David Fox	M14		9.08			
Entries:	Vivian O'Gorman, Peadar Dempsey							
Finish:	Sean Lambe, Peadar Dempsey							
Results:	Douglas Barry							
Marshal: Brian Byrne								